The BIKE

19 05 2010

THE BIKE

Back in the day my dad got me a little 50cc Yamaha dirt bike I loved that little thing.
In 1999 I raced in Jr races, on a dark damp October night my dad and me drove to a track I have never been to before. I remember walking the track with my father talking about lines to take around corners and how to never for get the number one rule “have fun”. I can see my dad still saying that to me like it was yesterday.

As I rolled my bike to the starting gates I get butterflies and start shaking, just the pre race judders. As the gate got closer and closer and I look up at all the light’s illuminating the undercover track I notice my racing buddy Andy was in the spot directly to my right. I said “hay” he said hay back but looked like he was in the zone and talking to me was the last thing on his mind. Then it hit me these kids where serous, they all had nice gear, nice bikes, and did not mess around.

When the 30 sign went up all the could be herd was the sound of two stroke engines, all I could smell was the two stroke gas, as little clouds of smoke flew off in to the beams of light then in to the darkness. Then the 30 dropped sideways and the flag girl ran off the track. The gate dropped. I never was good at the take off but that night I got an amazing start, about thirty feet out of the gate my Andy and this girl where all neck and neck as we turned in to the first corner. As I turned the girl bumped the vary end of my bars, then my bars hit the vary end of Andy’s bars and he crashed. I felt bad but feelings are for after the race.

Half way through the first lap I noticed that this girl and me where way out in front of the pack. I was amazed I have never won a race before or even been in front of the pack, and I was at a track I have never even raced before. I navigated the first lap just fine still going back and forth with this girl I really wanted to beat because I did not want to lose to a girl. She was ahead of me on the second lap but I was not far behind.
I was pushing has hard I could to catch up but I could not gain any ground on her, but then she crashed on a left turn because her front wheel washed out around a corner.

I took advantage of her mistake and pushed even harder even though I was way out in front of every one. By the 4th lap of the 5-lap race I started to slow down to make sure I don’t crash, but I did not know how close every one really was. I got passed buy a kid with a nice KTM bike and all the nice gear and I was not about to let this little rich kid beat me, so I went all out. This kid was really hard to catch I fallowed him on his line and I was gaining fast, a little to fast he was slowing down for a big jump that was for the men at the track not the little kids.

I went flying past the KTM kid then slammed hard on the knuckle of the next jump. It was like life was in slow-motion wile I was in the air just waiting for the crash. I remember slamming my helmet on the bars and the bike on the ground with a stuck throttle as an adult picked up my bike. Then rolling off the track and gathering my self for a little wile, then with out even thinking I jumped back on my bike and slammed that kick start down as hard as I could and taking off to finish the race.

I knew I was dead last but I still tried to go fast, as I crossed the finishes line I heard the people in the stands all cheer for me. Then it hit me every one saw what happed, as I pulled in the pits up to my dad I killed the bike set it up on its stand, took my helmet off and just lade down on the ground. My dad walked over looked down at me laying on the ground and said “have fun” I said that was the best race ever but get me some water. He laughed and pulled out water from our bag as I sat up and wiped the mud off of me.

Then as we where looking at my bike to make sure every thing is fine one of the officials came up to us and told us to fallow him. I had no idea what was going on as he took us in to the announcer’s room. Then he grabbed a big trophy and handed it to me, I couldn’t believe it, I wanted to get a trophy so bad and I got one for crash of the year as he said but it really was just a extra trophy he had but It made my night. Even though I lost the race hurt me self and lost to a girl that was one of the best nights I have ever had with my father.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

